Fellowship in Australian Academy of the Humnanities

The Australian Academy of the Humanities has elected 23 new Fellows at its Annual General Meeting on 28 November, the highest honour for achievement in the humanities in Australia.

“We’re delighted to welcome this impressive group of scholars to the Academy”, said President of the Academy, Professor John Fitzgerald FAHA. “Their election is testament to the excellence and influence of their work.”

“Collectively, they have made an outstanding contribution to our communities, to the nation and to the world.”

The twenty-one leading academics are leaders in their areas of study, ranging from Southeast Asian languages to the history and philosophy of science, Chinese literature and art, the philosophy of mind and cognitive science, women’s studies, the New Testament, Victorian art and culture in Australia, and Australian Aboriginal archaeology.

Two Honorary Fellows were also elected, in recognition of their distinguished contribution to the public life of the humanities and the arts, both in Australia and internationally.

New Fellows of the Australian Academy of the Humanities in 2015 include:

Trevor Burnard
School of Historical and Philosophical Studies, The University of Melbourne
One of the world’s pre-eminent scholars in transatlantic slavery and early American history.

About the Australian Academy of the Humanities One of Australia’s four learned academies, the Australian Academy of the Humanities advances knowledge of, and the pursuit of excellence in, the humanities in Australia for the benefit of the nation. Established by Royal Charter in 1969, its elected Fellows are leaders and experts in the broad disciplinary groups which share a common and central concern with human behaviour and culture. Fellows are elected to the Academy through a rigorous peer nomination process, while Honorary Fellows are proposed directly by Council and are elected by the Fellowship at the Annual General Meeting. Indication of Fellowship is given through the use of the post-nominal ‘FAHA’.
MEDIA ENQUIRIES: Dr Tina Parolin, Executive Director, Australian Academy of the Humanities
christina.parolin@humanities.org.au or tel +61 2 6125 9860 www.humanities.org.au @HumanitiesAU

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *